top of page

Preparing To Write Your Next Novel


NOTE: This post is not intended to be a teaching tool or advice. It's simply my approach to preparing to write a novel.

As all authors know, writing a novel is a huge undertaking. Every author prepares in his or her own way. Some create a detailed, formal outline of every chapter from first to last. Some have a similar outline but less detail. Some folks simply sketch out short synopsis of each chapter. And other folks just sit down write from the seat of their pants. So, which is the best way? My short answer is: the one that works best for you. You know you better than anyone else ... well, in most cases! Continue reading if you're interested in knowing how I prepare for that task. I throw in a few opinions just for consideration by the reader.

I use a hybrid approach that includes all but the finely detailed outline method. I sketch out the first five or six chapters with a three or four-sentence synopsis of each chapter. I then flesh out those notes into a first draft. I repeat the same process until the end of the story. Although in my mind I know how the story resolves, I do not pre-decide in great detail the manner in which that unfolds, other than staying true to the general plot. The details pretty much write themselves in an evolutionary process. I find I sometimes have to deviate from my short synopses of subsequent chapters as I stumble onto new and exciting twists and turns with my extemporaneous writing as each chapter unfolds. Still, I take caution to not ramble or deviate very far from my original plot.

The one thing I do in great detail is the bios and physical appearance of each main character. There are few things worse, for an author, than saying Mary Smith had eyes that would make an emerald jealous in Chapter Three, and then comment on her gorgeous, azure eyes in Chapter Eleven. My character bios feature all the following: age, height, body-build, hair color and hair style. They also include typical style of dress, tattoos, scars, birthmarks, unusual characteristics such as a large or very small nose, exceptionally poor or remarkably good posture, bad habits, favorite foods, things they can't stand, cravings, general personality traits - friendly, standoff-ish, polite, rude, level of patience, easily upset, easy going, verbose, quiet - timbre of voice, hobbies, education, brief family background, and other things of interest. Yes, it's a lot work but it has saved me a lot of unnecessary rewriting and miscellaneous errors in continuity. In my opinion, it's well worth the investment in time and effort. It typically takes me three or four days to complete this process. After having written each important character's bio, I evaluate them to confirm that I can make it all work. Characters do not have to be compatible with one another, but they all must be compatible to the plot.

I next write out a decent description of the various geographic & work settings that are important to the story. Those details are some of the most difficult things for me to keep consistent as I write. But with those descriptions at hand, I almost always stay in good standing. Continuity is so important; I find having these descriptions close at hand is a good backup plan for that.

I then make specially annotated notes in the chapters where I want key plot developments and twists to occur. That's another tool that keeps me on target to a smooth and timely conclusion. I guess you could say it keeps my rhythm and timing on track.

I also pay close attention to names, primarily for my characters, but also for locations if they're fictional. I try to use names that are easy to remember. With rare exceptions, such as Ann Everett's fun but quirky Texas characters, I find odd names somewhat distracting. Keeping the names simple minimizes the chances of a reader getting confused about who's who. I also try to avoid using similar sounding names, such Terry, Barry, Mary, Larry, Carrie, Gary, etc. I can think of no compelling reason to do otherwise. The one exception that comes to mind is if you have twins as important characters in your story. I have an entire series (The Double Trouble Series) in which twin sisters are the main characters. Still, I use names that aren't easily confused (Evedra and Victoria).

Research is one of the most time-consuming efforts in my preparation. I have a Gaslight Fantasy novel I've been messing around with for a couple of years. I spent four months researching a plethora of details, but yet important elements to insure pretty close accuracy for the time period and geographic setting. Following are examples: the value of a dollar now compared to a dollar in 1836 - the time setting for the novel. I checked into the vernacular common among Boston residents a the time, the most common accents, construction types for the time and location, weather for the seasons and the region, Native American Tribes in the area at the time, composition of city government, apparel of the affluent and the not-so-affluent, flora and fauna indigenous to the area, and much more. Getting all that research out of the way up front was so helpful as I rarely had to stop my writing flow to look up something. I already at the needed information at my fingertips.

Ambience of the author's writing area can make a difference, more so for some authors than others. I typically do not listen to music as I write because I tend to analyze it as I listen - I'm a composer/songwriter/musician. That's too much 0f a distraction for me to remain focused on my writing. However, I've written a dozen or so songs based around scenes in my novels. On the other hand, music inspires other folks. Whatever works for you - do it!

That's how I prepare for each novel. How do you prepare?

Also, I'm interested in hearing any comments you might have regarding my method of preparation.

Wishing you and your muse the very best. Keep writing - there is no force greater than the power of words.

Tai

bottom of page